I’ve Got a Confession.

There I go again with the click-bait title!

I’ve got an Hourglass Confession Ultra Slim High Intensity Refillable Lipstick to talk about today!

P1230636

The Ultra Slim in the title is code for so little product for quite a lot of money! For $/oz, it is one of the most expensive lipsticks on the market as in total, it’s only 0.03 oz/.9 g.

Ridiculous, eh?

I’m the sucker who clearly doesn’t care because ooh, pretty packaging!

Price: CAD 42.00 and 28.00 for the refill only

Packaging

Let’s be real, this is some gorgeous, unique packaging. It truly made me excited to own one. It’s a gorgeous, gold, pointed outer shell (made of metal, not plastic) – reminiscent of a quill or fountain pen actually.

The bottom of the lipstick (the pointed part), is weighted slightly, so it has a luxurious heft in the hands. Additionally, it’s super easy to twist off the refills and switch out the colours. The slim and rounded shape of the lipstick actually makes it quite easy to fill in the lips without a lip brush or liner needed.

I’ve gotta give credit where it’s due to Hourglass…now if only they gave more product for the money.

P1230638

Colour

I’ve Been is a toasted rosewood sort of shade; brown with a hint of pink. On me, it’s a medium shade, easily wearable in the daytime and nighttime, and I think it’s quite unique in my collection of lipsticks.

Excuse the crappy iPhone pic, but this is me with a cold, sans foundation, rockin’ I’ve Been

Application & Performance 

P1230639

This lipstick actually applies no different to any other. It’s creamy satin finish, that slowly dries down to a demi-matte. It can exacerbate dry patches, but on the flip side, it is comfortable to wear and isn’t drying.

Now onto the big question. Is it worth the price tag?

No.

While the lipstick feels lovely on the lips, wears off elegantly and is relatively long lasting, it’s not mind-blowing. The packaging is hella sexy though, so if you’re into it, like I am, then go for it!

Leave a Reply

