Wooden Watches & Other Eco Friendly Finds! 

Yoohooo.

Yes, I am still alive!

My semester is now over, and I finally know what ‘free time’ means. Well, basically it means that I have a sh*t tonne of posts to write but that’s my idea of a good time.

Now back to a post I wrote a while back but never properly finished.

I must have had my head stuck in the sand all these years, but I actually didn’t know the Green Living Show was a thing until I was invited to attend this year. I’m glad my eyes were opened though as there were many interesting vendors in all categories: beauty, food, furniture, automotive, etc.

img_4182

The Green Living Show is North America’s largest consumer show dedicated to simple solutions for leading a healthy and sustainable lifestyle. It is put together by Green Living Enterprises, Canada’s leading cause-marketing agency focused on social and environmental program development.

There were so many unique and innovative vendors, but here are just a few that caught my eye…and my wallet.

Saint Cosmetics (@saintcosmetics)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This company is Canadian, like most at the Green Living Show, and creates plant based makeup that is non-toxic, gluten and cruelty free. The pigmentation on the eyeshadows was okay, but the lipsticks swatched very creamily. There is a lack of foundation shades (undertones, etc), but I am sure they will continue to improve and grow.

Jennifer Rong Designs (@rongdesigns)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Jennifer’s designs took my breath away. As you can see, they are so unique – delicate, but grounded in their earthiness, having been made out of wood. Along with jewelry, she also sells coasters and other larger pieces made out of wood.

G Fox & Co (@gfoxco)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This baby is mine! I’ve been lusting after a wooden watch every since Sharon Farrell said how much she loved hers (and I love everything Sharon loves, it seems). I had my eye on this one but with the Canadian dollar being so crappy, I could never swallow the CAD 375.00 price tag. Just looking at it makes me gag.

However, I completely fell in love with this (bamboo) watch, despite it not being my favoured colour scheme or what I had envisioned. It is so unique – from the ombre, green hued watch-strap (which flatters my olive skin), to the rope carving around the watch face, and then to the small details such as oars for watch-hands. The woods are sourced from British Columbia, but the watch is assembled in Ontario. It is a family company and it is evident that they take pride in crafting their watches thoughtfully.

Food, Fashion & Other Fun Stuff

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There were amazing other vendors, from the most delicious snacks (you have to try Rawnata and Hungry Buddha) to cool indoor gardens and silk fashions. I was definitely very pleasantly surprised at the array of vendors and I’ll definitely be going back next year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

