The Abnormal Company | Deciem | Hylamide HA Blur & The Ordinary Serum

Everyone’s guidance was that “you can’t do 10 things at once”. We decided to do 10 things at once and called our craziness DECIEM, coming from decima, the latin word for 10 in a sequence. –Brandon Truaxe

p1210260

My friend N first turned me on to Deciem The Abnormal Beauty Company. It was only after a while that I realized that it is the same company that produces the Niod Protography Fluid – raved about by Wayne Goss!

In case this is the first you’ve heard of Deciem, I’ll let them introduce themselves.

“We started trading in 2013. Now we own and operate more than 10 brands in the beauty world. Some of these brands have already become leaders in their focused categories while some are still waiting impatiently to be born. We started with 1 product in 1 market. We now have a growing portfolio of more than 50 products in more than 15 markets.”

With all that being said, I had high expectations. Read on to see if the primer and serum delivered!

Hylamide HA Blur CAD 19.00

I bought this for my mother, however I’ve used it as well for testing purposes. My mum says this is the best primer she’s ever tried, and she’s used:

  • Benefit’s Porefessional
  • Garnier 5 Second Blur
  • Maybelline Baby Skin

In my experience, this keeps shine at bay all day, fills in texture on the skin, as well as blurs it. It’s a fantastic product to wear on a no-makeup day because it (very subtly) evens everything out.

It’s great under foundation as well, and foundation looks flawless over it. However, I do not like to use silicone primers under my current foundation of choice – Hourglass Illusion Skin Tint. I prefer water based primers or no primers at all because it already lays well on my skin and lasts a hell of a long time.

The Ordinary Hyaluronic Serum CAD 6.80

I’m always on the hunt for a better and more hydrating serum since my face (and body) feels like the Sahara most of the time. Granted, I should drink more water and take fewer hot showers but…still. When I saw the price of this serum I wondered if it was too good to be true.

The consistency of this serum is watery and slippery, making it glide smoothly across the skin and sink in very quickly. It’s a bit tacky until it sinks in but I actually like the tactile sensation. It’s a great serum for those with normal-dry skin, however it is not as hydrating as other serums that I have tried, but that is because I am severely dehydrated. I might move on to the Hylamide Hyaluronic serum after I finish this bottle in hopes of more moisture.

One thought on “The Abnormal Company | Deciem | Hylamide HA Blur & The Ordinary Serum

Leave a Reply

