It’s the Modern Renaissance of Red Eyeshadow

In the past, I have been extremely wishy washy about this palette. As you can see from this post, I need another eyeshadow palette like I need a hole in the head. However, I bowed down to peer pressure and all the pretty looks on Instagram and felt like this could have a valuable spot in my collection. So I picked it up when it finally came back into stock!

Price: CAD 55.00

Let me tell you, it was well worth it! I’ve had this palette for about about 6 weeks now and it’s been the item I predominantly use when doing eyeshadow. The colour palette is surprisingly versatile, and exceedingly flattering on my tan, olive Indian skin. The pigmentation cannot be faulted, and despite the many reports of it being powdery and prone to fallout, if one takes care to just pat the brush into the shadow, an excess of powder will not be stirred up.

Colour & Pigmentation

The picture below depicts finger swatches with two layers of eyeshadow (in order to accurately show the pigmentation). They perform even better on the eyes than they swatch. Longevity is great (about 10 hours), but I do use Milani’s eyeshadow primer no matter what I’m putting on my eyes. I don’t think I need to describe the eyeshadows individually to you since they’re clear to see below. A quick note though; despite Love Letter and Venetian red looking similar in the swatches, LL leans more cool pink while VR is a raspberry red.

Dupes

Let me preface this by saying that the palette overall is quite unique. Nevertheless, any makeup junkie will have a couple similar shadows in his/her collection. The four that I could pretty adequately dupe are:

  • Vermeer: MUG Shimma Shimma; identical, but Vermeer might be a hair more metallic
  • Buon Fresco: MUG Unexpected; Unexpected is cooler and more purple while BF is slighty rosier
  • Raw Sienna: NYX Blame it On Midnight; RS is slightly deeper and cooler toned
  • Burnt Orange: Karity Inod (dupe for MAC Soft Brown), BO is a tinge warmer

p1200949

Eyeshadow Looks

Red Flame 

p1200964

On my lips, I’m wearing NYX Stone Fox.

Terracotta Haze

p1210194

On my lips is my very own custom lipstick from Bite Beauty. Read about the whole experience here!

This palette is surprisingly versatile despite having so many berry shades within. I am still hunting for my perfect proper red eyeshadow, but in the meantime, this is extremely flattering on brown eyes. I can get looks that vary from the most neutral to the ultra smokey; from cool to warm, and the eyeshadows practically blend themselves out. A big thumbs up from me!

Now as a bonus after this review, I thought I’d share this fascinating post on reddit about the names of the shades (and their accuracy). As a history and art buff, I love this analysis!

One thought on “It’s the Modern Renaissance of Red Eyeshadow

Leave a Reply

