Foundations that Didn’t Make the Cut

As you may have already seen on the blog, I’ve found a new foundation favourite – the Hourglass Hyaluronic Illusion Skin Tint! To read more about it, head on over to the blog post.

Now let’s talk about all the foundations I said no to along the way, and why. For reference, I’m about an NC37, or C5 in MAC F&B. I now wear Golden Tan in the Hourglass line.

Chanel VitaLumiere Aqua (40 Beige)

  • glowing skin
  • gorgeous texture
  • very lightweight
  • sheer to light-medium coverage
  • a tad too light for my skintone; terrible range of shades

Nars Sheer Glow (Barcelona)

  • satin finish
  • good colour match
  • great longevity
  • didn’t get shiny. The t-zone only showed some evidence of shine after 8 hours, and then quite a bit after 12+
  • was not as forgiving as the Hourglass foundation on dry patches and dehydration

Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk (6.5)

  • matte finish
  • would sometimes emphasize dryness and texture
  • fantastic longevity
  • develops a slight (minimal) sheen after 6 hours

Since I’ve never reviewed Mac’s Face & Body, I’ll add in a bonus review here because I’m clearly dissatisfied with it now which is why I’ve been on the hunt in the first place. That’s not to say it isn’t a good foundation. It’s still fantastic depending on the occasion, but it’s no longer a reliable everyday/season/occasion foundation for me because I now lean towards combo-dehydrated skin.

MAC Face & Body (C5)

  • lightweight
  • great sheer to medium coverage
  • photographs well (no spf)
  • fantastic on dry skin (particularly in the winter)
  • not the longest lasting foundation (on me)
  • a little too dewy/shiny
  • breaks down on the nose
  • runs quite yellow or pink, respectively; not a great selection for olive tones

 

2 thoughts on “Foundations that Didn’t Make the Cut

Leave a Reply

