Trending: Brown Lips | Dose of Colors Cork 

I think I’m going to start a “Trending” series of posts whereby I talk about hot new makeup looks – think ‘strobing‘ of a few months ago to the metallic eyes and lips we’re heading towards. I’ve already done a post on trendy black lips here.

Right now the makeup world is hot for nude and brown lipsticks, in all shades for all skin tones. I prefer a deeper nude in order to not wash my skin out, therefore I’ve gravitated towards ABH’s Ashton, and now Dose of Colours Cork. This is a vegan, cruelty/gluten/paraben free matte liquid lipstick.

Price: USD 18.00


As you can see, this is a yellow toned medium chocolate brown shade. Deeper than I’d expected on the lips but very flattering on a tan/brown skintone. For a comparison in colour, Ashton definitely has peachy-red undertones.

The formula is a comfortable one, akin to Stila or Kat Von D but not quite as moussey. It is definitely less drying than the ABH formula though so I do prefer this to Ashton. It wears for a significant amount of time even through drinks and normal meals (I’m not talking burgers or ribs here people), and the lipstick is pretty much transfer proof. If it wears off, it wears away in the centre and reapplication is a breeze and does not create any caking.

All in all, a thumbs up from me!

Leave a Reply

