AUKEY 3-in-1 Phone Lens Kit | Wide Angle, Macro, Fisheye

Guess what? I’m going on vacation! Not right now, mind you, but next month. In preparation for that, I’m flexing and exercising my photography muscles so I can get some kick-ass photos when I go away.

Of course I’ve got my handy dandy camera, but sometimes a phone is just quicker and more convenient. Since I definitely didn’t want to spend oodles of money on an Olloclip (as lovely as it may look), I did some intensive research on Amazon, and found Aukey’s 3-in-1 Lens kit to use with my iPhone 6.

Price: CAD 19.99

One thing I liked was that it came securely packaged and that majority of the packaging was made from cardboard, therefore making it recyclable.

The kit contains:

  • 1 fisheye lens
  • 1 macro lense/1 wide angle lens (with protective caps)
    • they’re screwed together for the wide angle, so if you’d like to take a macro shot, just unscrew the wide angle portion
  • 2 lens holder clips
  • a small bag and cloth to store and clean the lenses

Macro Lens: I took several pictures of a large decorative flower with beading as the centre

Using the macro lens but keeping the phone farther away

Using the macro lens at the ideal distance – the details in the petals and the beading are clear

For the details in the subject of your photo to be clear, you must bring your phone closer than would seem normal, but the effect is worth it. After you play around with these lenses a bit, you’ll get the hang of it.

The same shot without the macro lens, just the phone itself – the details are blurred

Wide Angle & Fisheye Lenses: sorry I couldn’t photograph a more picturesque location but it’s darned cold and I didn’t want to leave the house. Therefore my backyard (messy as it is) will have to do.

Just my phone – no lens 

Already there is a sense of more breathing room with the wide angle lens. However, some detail is lost in the sides of the photo (see the left column). Nothing major when viewed on a phone but it will be more evident when the photo is enlarged.

Fisheye lens

There is just so much more captured in this shot! It’s unbelievable. Again, the edges are a little fuzzy, but not terribly so. One bonus about the Aukey lens is that it doesn’t have the black ring (that annoys the heck out of me) that usually appears in photos taken with a fisheye lens.

I’d recommend this 100% to those who want to play around with phone lenses for a bit of photography fun. If you’re a professional, or have more money to spend, you can go with the more expensive options, but tbh, this kit does everything necessary and it does it fairly well and all for under $20.

One thought on “AUKEY 3-in-1 Phone Lens Kit | Wide Angle, Macro, Fisheye

Leave a Reply

