Repurposing Your Makeup | First Post of 2016

This is my first blog post of 2016! If you are new to my blog, welcome, and if you’re a returning reader, thank you so very much and I hope you stick with me as my blog continues to grow this year. I hope that 2016 will hold many exciting opportunities and I cannot wait to play with even more new makeup.

With the new year comes the desire to reinvent oneself. That’s what new years resolutions are for, right? I’ve already deviated from my exercise plan, so some things never change. In the realm of makeup however, I have reinvented myself, or rather, re-purposed a makeup product.

That product is Mac’s Fluidline Gel Creme in the colour Redhead. It was passed on to me by a friend who found it to be the wrong shade and thought I could do something with it. One day when staring at it, I just thought – what the hell – let’s pop it on my eyes!


That changed everything! Rather than being jealous of Mac’s Soft Ochre and how amazing it is on everybody (but it is too light on my skin tone) I use this instead. It is a hair darker and warmer than my skintone but that is perfect for an all over wash of colour that adds slight depth to the crease as well. It covers up the veins and provides a clean base for makeup.

I still have to use a primer underneath it and if I have a little extra time, I blend it out with powder eyeshadow in the crease and throw in a little inner corner highlight, but those are just extras.

With a primer the colour lasts all day and now I absolutely can’t do without it. This is the perfect neutralizing skin tone shade for brown skin.


Are there any products that you use, but not in the way that they were intended?

Leave a Reply

