Cold & Flu Beauty Staples 

I had the dubious honour of getting a cold a day or two before Christmas. Consequently, on occasions when people look their best and put on their most glamorous makeup, it was all I could do to look alive and well. It was goodbye to glitter, and hello to dark circles!

These products were vital in keeping my skin moisturized and looking healthy and faking the fact that I was sick.

  1. Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream: a cult product beloved by the makeup community, I truly had not understood or felt the powers of this item until I got a cold. Admittedly the scent is strong and is a love it or hate it type, but I look upon it fondly. Of course, with my cold, I also couldn’t smell a darned thing! This is a thick ointment cream that I used around my nose (to combat dryness from blowing it) and on my easily chapped lips. I’ve also previously used it on my cuticles, and feet and it has done wonders.
  2. Vichy Serum: for a few days I thought I’d lost my serum and I was quite despondent. Surprisingly my mother found it in the next room…in the closet…buried under gift wrapping. Till this day it remains a mystery as to how it got there. Anyways, I digress. This does wonders for my parched dehydrated skin particularly in the winter and when I have a cold.
  3. Moisturizer (Face & Body)
    1. First Aid Beauty Intense Cream: a new addition to my moisturizing regimen and I quite like it. It has to be combined with the aforementioned serum for full moisturizing effects but I really do like it becaude it is lightweight and sinks in quickly and the moisture lasts all day/night. Wonderful under makeup too.
    2. Nivea SOS: my holy grail lotion; truly, I do not think I will find anything better. For years I tried other brands but once my skin felt this, I was hooked. For my severely dehydrated skin it is both moisturizing and long-lasting. Furthermore, it is not greasy! Hallelujah.
  4. Concealer
    1. Eve Pearl Dual Salmon Concealer (Medium/Tan): this is not necessary all the time, but when sleepless nights due to a blocked nose or persistent cough get to you, this is definitely handy. Dab it onto the darkest parts of your circles and voila, they’re gone.
    2. LA Girl Pro Conceal (Pure Beige): it amazes me how much my skin has lightened this winter. My summer shade is Medium Beige but now I have to use Pure Beige (sometimes with a teensy dash of Creamy Beige). It is a tad more yellow than my skin undertone but when blended well, or used in conjunction with a foundation, is totally unnoticeable.
  5. Laura Mercier Translucent Powder: admittedly, this is a very very new product in my stash as it was a gifted to me a few days before Christmas by a dear friend. Thank goodness for it because when I was in the depths of my cold I tended to get hot, and maybe a tad bit dewy (don’t be ridiculous, ladies don’t sweat) so this brought down the shine in my t-zone and kept my concealer crease free. I’ll do a more in-depth review after I’ve used it for a while but so far – positive first impressions.


I hope you do not get a cold this season, but if you do, I hope this post will help you combat the less visually pleasing side effects.

One more post until 2016!

2 thoughts on “Cold & Flu Beauty Staples 

  1. Amanda M. D'Souza says:

    This was such a fun read, and I actually laughed out loud a couple times! I got sick right after New Year’s so this would have been perfect to read…if only I had seen it then 😦 But thanks for this handy guide, will definitely be using these products ~for future sicknesses~

    Like

Leave a Reply

