Mi Vida Loca Remix Palette | Kat Von D | Review + Swatches + Looks

Remember my beauty wishlist? Well….half of it just came true (*the other half I decided against buying due to size/price)!

I caved, and purchased the KVD Mi Vida Loca Remix palette because…I just couldn’t let it sit on the shelves pining for me. I mean, the palette was practically crying to be in my vanity.

Price: CAD 71 (2.96/shadow)

Look at this gorgeousness. JUST LOOK AT IT.

Okay, okay, I won’t keep teasing you. Here are the swatches you’ve been waiting for:

Well, this is the second time I’m writing this review – I wrote it once, WordPress didn’t save it, and now second time’s the charm!

This is the first palette I’ve ever purchased from Kat Von D, and I must admit, I might be hooked. The artwork on the outer sleeve is simply gorgeous, and the palette layout – inspired by a record disc – is so unique. However, this is also what makes the palette unwieldy. Furthermore, it has the tendency to easily slip out of its packaging. I might try and magnetize the palette to the sleeve in order to curb that annoyance. Another minor gripe I have with this palette is the lack of a true red (Destroyer is a hot fuscia pink at best), and a good warm transitional brown for medium-tan skin tones. Those substitutions would have really completed the palette.

If you’re wondering about the pigmentation, don’t. They are highly pigmented, as you can see from the swatches above, and they blend like a dream. Despite this, they are a tad more powdery than I’d prefer. As long as you tap the brush though, there is little to no fallout.

I thought I’d get the things that I’m not as keen on about this palette out of the way before I gave you my overall thoughts. It is beautiful and so versatile – I mean, there are an umpteenth number of colour combinations that one can do without having to pull in any thing else! From the soot black, to the pale lavender, all show up very well on my skin tone and that pleases me greatly.

If you’re a colour lover like me, or someone wanting to branch out from your perch on the tree of neutrals, definitely give this palette a go. You won’t regret it, if simply for the gorgeous packaging alone.

Between this and my UD Electric palette, I should be set for colourful eyeshadows for life! Whether or not that will be the reality remains to be seen…

Now for the looks I’ve done with this palette so far:

3 thoughts on “Mi Vida Loca Remix Palette | Kat Von D | Review + Swatches + Looks

Leave a Reply

