Lipidol Facial & Body Oil Review 

(Movie narrator voice) “From the makers of Bio-Oil, comes the new and revolutionary Lipidol!” 

Well, I don’t know if it’s revolutionary yet, but I’m here to give you my first impressions on a couple of oils from Lipidol. They are a new release here in Canada and can be found at your local Walmart.

Price: CAD 8.95

The Skin I’m In

A bit of a background on my skin. I have severely dehydrated skin. No matter how much water I drink, it is dehydrated and depending on the season, it is also flaky (particularly in winter). It’s not fun, but there you go. My skin is the most normal in the summer or in hot, humid climates. My face is on the other hand, is combination skin. Dehydrated but slightly oily, probably because it produces extra oil to combat the dryness. Despite this, my skin is not acne prone or sensitive.

Facial Cleansing Oil

Screen shot 2015-09-27 at 10.16.25 PM

I used this product to cleanse away a lipart I did using a Coloured Raine’s lip paint in Soul. It was a bit of a let down because although the it broke down the product (as any oil would), when I added water it only got slightly foamy/milky. Furthermore, once I rinsed it off, it still felt oily and to test its efficacy I ran a washcloth over my face. Turns out there was still remnants of makeup on my face. Overall, it’s an okay cleansing oil…it can be used as the first step of removing makeup but to be honest I prefer my Equate facial cloths. This oil is scented with Rosemary and Niaouli oils (kinda smells like Eucalyptus to me).

Overnight Facial Oil

Screen shot 2015-09-27 at 10.17.02 PM

I tried this yesterday, after washing my face with only an Equate washcloth. I did not put any serum or other product on prior to this. It felt nice on the skin, dried down a little bit but it was still oily to the touch. It is a very thin oil and was not uncomfortable to have on. There was a slight scent but I couldn’t really distinguish what it was. It faded upon application though. When I woke up today morning, I was really pleasantly surprised! The oil had totally sunk in, and my skin felt smooth, supple and hydrated. Additionally my skin is less oily than normal during the day. Maybe adding the extra oil has counteracted my body’s natural production of sebum.

Body Cleansing Oil

Screen shot 2015-09-27 at 10.16.48 PM

Meh. That about sums it up. It felt nice on the skin when I put it in and it developed a slight lather but I didn’t feel like I received an extra dose of hydration by using this oil. It’s a skip from me.

Let me know if you’ve tried these oils or what beauty oil you use (and for what purpose).

*Pictures from lipidol.com

One thought on “Lipidol Facial & Body Oil Review 

Leave a Reply

