Covergirl | The Super Sizer Mascara Review

Mascaras are a finicky thing because most people want magical results – length, volume, thickness, curl, etc. I had found that with the Essence I ❤ Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara (the only issue was the large brush size) but once that got over I was in the mood for some experimentation. I experimented unsuccessfully with the Jordana Best Lash Extreme Volumizing and Essence Plump No Clump! Volume mascaras, and now I believe I’ve found a winner in Covergirl’s The Super Sizer Mascara.

Screen shot 2015-08-17 at 7.07.56 PM

My favourite shot of the mascara’s effect

Here’s a before and after with the mascara:

P1140638

Nothing on the left; fully made up and mascara’d on the right

The bristles of the brush are many and very fine, therefore to maximize the effect, wiggle the flat side of the brush at the root of the lashes to deposit the most product and then using the longer bristled side, comb through the lashes. For added omph twirl the brush as you stroke (I’m imagining delicate ballerinas on the tips of my lashes now).

P1130605

P1140676

The Super Sizer is a mascara which is ultra defining and provides natural looking, ultra-black lashes. When I first bought it, I was not impressed, but a week later, after the formula dried down a little, it really caught my attention. It’s the perfect mascara for every day because the fine bristles on the wand coat every lash, lengthening and fanning them out. However, it does not increase the volume of one’s lashes like the Essence mascara does. This is not a con against it; it is a fabulous mascara as is, but for a night out or for a more va-va-voom effect, it might be better to combine this with a more volumizing mascara. It has now become my go-to every day mascara! Additionally, it holds a curl, both when I curl my lashes prior to application and if I don’t. I tend to always curl my lashes though because although long, they are very very straight.

What’s your HG mascara?

Leave a Reply

