Traveling at Home | Niagara on the Lake

Leaving home, more often than not,, can make you appreciate what you have at waiting for you when you get back. For example, I couldn’t properly appreciate India while I was there, but now I love the vibrancy of life there, from the beautiful beaches of Goa to the busy markets in Delhi. There is so much to love in every country, and I am determined to explore more of Canada. When I went abroad, I got to know Portugal more thoroughly than I know Canada! It made me realize that I do not always have to go to a different country to see a new place. There are many places within Ontario itself that are beautiful, full of history and ….lots and lots of wine.

This past weekend I went to Niagara-on-the-Lake, a hop, skip and jump away from Niagara Falls. If you’re an Ontarian and have not yet made a visit, definitely put it on your to-see list. There’s just so much to do! Here are some pictures of our stay:

P1130154

Wellend Canal

Screen shot 2015-07-24 at 1.56.56 AM

Bird Kingdom

P1130217

Bird Kingdom

P1130338

Bird Kingdom

P1130367

Niagara Falls at night

P1130348

Standing over the Niagara water

P1130371

Winery – we visited both Joseph’s Estates, a smaller, home grown operation and Inniskillin, a winery of a much larger scale!

P1130376

Grapes for ice wine

P1130442

Sunset captured while on a carriage ride

P1130465

Queen Street (the main shopping area) at sundown

P1130515

P1130516

That’s the US! Niagara Fort I believe

P1130521

Why oh why did I not bring my bathing suit?

P1130502

Addisons cottage backyard

In case you’re looking for a place to stay, we booked a cozy cottage (http://www.addisons.com/) adjacent to a bed and breakfast operated by the same owner. It was perfect, and look at that beautiful backyard! In addition, it was about a 3 minute walk to the water. To be honest, we didn’t spend much time in the cottage because we were busy doing stuff, but everthing was clean and comfortable and she provided everything we needed (linen, towels, soap, utensils, etc). I’d definitely recommend, in particular for the location!

One thought on “Traveling at Home | Niagara on the Lake

Leave a Reply

