Temptations & My Beauty Wishlist

Honestly, I think that buying makeup is more of a high for me than eating candy. And I love chocolate. So that’s saying something! Intellectually I can understand that I probably don’t ‘need’ any more makeup…not that I needed any to begin with, but with the industry deliberately cultivating the ‘must buy more’ mentality with their limited edition products and over-hyped selling points, it makes it really difficult to stay out of the fray. Once a year, usually during Lent, I like to go on a no-buy…however once that period is done, all my restraint flies out the window and I want to buy even more! It’s not that I need to purchase expensive makeup; basically any new product, no matter the price, fills me with excitement. It can be because its a new shade or formulation or brand that I haven’t tried before.

My point is that I’m just going to embrace this shallow materialism for as long as I can. I’m sure the ability to buy makeup willy-nilly will not be present in my life forever due to other priorities so why not say to hell with it and enjoy all the pretty colours now? In that vein, I am so excited for Kat Von D‘s Mi Vida Loca palette! It’s like Urban Decay’s Electric Palette on steroids! If this does not scream Subita, I don’t know what will. I’m a bit nervous for the price though but I sincerely hope the quality is stellar…but hopefully Santa (or Santa’s helper, ahem, me) will put under the tree this year. (Photos from @katvondbeauty on Instagram)

Screen shot 2015-07-15 at 2.09.58 AM

Screen shot 2015-07-15 at 2.09.44 AM

If one palette was not enough, just wait till you get a load of this one! The Hourglass Ambient Lighting products have attained cult status amongst makeup artists and beauty lovers worldwide. However, they are hella pricy! Like seriously, totally-out-of-my-budget-pricey for a powder. But it’s really tough not to feel that siren call. So far, I have not purchased any of the palettes but let me tell you, this mega palette coming out for #Holiday2015 is seriously testing my will. I don’t care about the smaller quantity of product (vs a full size) but the ability to try three different types of powers is swaying me! (Picture by SpaceNK)

holiday2015_hourglasspalette001

How do you resist the temptation to buy every new thing in sight? Or if you can’t resist, what items do you have your eye on?

3 thoughts on “Temptations & My Beauty Wishlist

Leave a Reply

