Makeup Geek Eyeshadows ‘Shimma Shimma’, ‘Homecoming’, ‘Rockstar’, ‘Shimmermint’

I never thought I’d be one of those people who would follow a brand like a sheep. However, that does seem to be what I’ve turned into because I like everything that Makeup Geek puts out! I talked about their matte eyeshadows in my last post and now I have a couple of their regular eyeshadows to show you.

P1080772

The Price: USD 5.99 at MakeupGeek.com

Shimma Shimma

P1080786

Shimma Shimma

This is a lovely warm champagne shadow that can be used all over the lid, as an inner corner highlight or (if used very sparingly) as a highlight on the tops of the cheekbones. It has a beautiful shine, but it isn’t ultra metallic which is perfect for most looks and any time of the day.

Homecoming

P1080784

Homecoming

This reminds me a little bit of Maybelline’s Colour Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze, but only in shadow form. On me, its a ‘my eyelids but better’ kind of colour. It’s a satin finished bronze-brown that is on the cooler side of the spectrum.

Rockstar

P1080788

Rockstar

Pictures cannot accurately depict what this shadow looks like. When Marlena said it was special, I didn’t believe it until I saw it myself. It’s a lovely white-silver with a pink-purple iridescence! It’s the perfect pop to a neutral look as well as an accessory to a vibrant look. It’s particularly flattering on my brown-black eyes.

Shimmermint

P1080789

Shimmermint (this picture is a bit washed out as it’s a lot more green in real life)

Shimmermint was a bit of a surprise for me as I was under the impression that it was going to be a ‘mint’ sort of colour. That’s not the case at all – it is very much a warm light green with a strong gold duochrome. Once I got over the fact that it wasn’t the colour I thought it was going to be, I did fall in love with it. It really frames my eyes well and it’s not so vibrant that it isn’t wearable (for school, or work).

P1080792

Top – Bottom: Shimma Shimma, Homecoming, Rockstar, Shimmermint

I think the above picture accurately depicts (as much as it can) the pink-purple shift on Rockstar and the gold shift on Shimmermint. All of these shadows perform really well when they catch the light. Just in general, they are not prone to fading throughout the day (but I wear a primer with all my eyeshadows anyways) and they have a very smooth formula.

Have you tried any Makeup Geek products? What are your favourites? I’ve got my eye on some of their upcoming releases, so I foresee some online shopping in the future (after Lent that is…no shopping until Easter)!

7 thoughts on “Makeup Geek Eyeshadows ‘Shimma Shimma’, ‘Homecoming’, ‘Rockstar’, ‘Shimmermint’

Leave a Reply

