Review: Maybelline Rebel Bloom Collection ‘Coral Burst’ Lipstick

P1080634

P1080633Price: CAD 8.99 (on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart)

It seems like I’m eternally on the hunt for the perfect coral lipstick – that isn’t too red or too pink or straight up orange. Coral Burst is as close as I’ve gotten, and I like it for the most part but there’s just one or two niggles that, if done away with, would have made it perfect.

It's coming off more blue toned and pink than it appears in person. In real life, it is a bit more peachy coral (Temptalia's lip swatch is quite accurate)

It’s coming off more blue toned and pink than it appears in person. In real life, it is a bit more peachy coral (Temptalia’s lip swatch is quite accurate)

This is a bright pastel colour, an oxymoron I know, but that is quite an apt description. It is the perfect mix of pink and orange. It does not look too pale or chalky on my tan skin and the scent is not offensive to me (sort of vanilla-y). It is slightly translucent, which is one of the issues I have with it (about 85% opacity achieved in one swipe), and for that reason I tend to pair it with a lipliner by Annabelle in the colour Corail. Another note, it tends to collect in lip lines if too much is applied and it emphasizes any texture on the lips (dry flakes, etc). However, it is a very pretty colour so I’m going to keep it and work it into my Spring/Summer lip ‘wardrobe’ (until I find something better, that is).

P1080636

There are some beautiful shades in the collection (especially the lilac!) but since I’m already a lipstick hoarder, I’ll be content with just this one.

P1080635

Let me know if you have any coral lip recommendations (I’ve reviewed Sephora’s Cream Lip Stain in Watermelon Slice here)!

3 thoughts on “Review: Maybelline Rebel Bloom Collection ‘Coral Burst’ Lipstick

Leave a Reply

