Review: NEW Rimmel Provocalips ‘750 Heart Breaker’

This is a review of the new 16hr long wear liquid lipstick by Rimmel called the Provocolips, and let me start off by saying–colour me impressed!

350 Heart Breaker Check out the adorable packaging; I'm a sucker for those kisses!

350 Heart Breaker
Check out the adorable packaging; I’m a sucker for those kisses!

The Price: Varies. I paid CAD $9 (tax inc)

The Details: Liquid lip color, 0.14 fluid ounces; topcoat, 0.10 fluid ounces. The liquid lip colour is fairly thin, yet it was 90% opaque in one coat. Adding a second coat does not feel heavy on the lips. The topcoat however is a bit thicker, but that does not translate to an uncomfortable feeling on the lips; it’s barely noticeable.

The liquid lip colour--a muted brownish red. Somewhat brick coloured and very wearable.

The liquid lip colour–a muted brownish red. Somewhat brick coloured and very wearable.

The colourless topcoat

The colourless topcoat

The Claims:

• “Up to 16 hours of lip liberation” Kiss proof, transfer proof, food proof high impact endless colour.
• No tight feeling or dry lips. Lips feel smooth and moisturized all day long.
• Easy removal with Oil based makeup remover

STEP 1: Apply colour and keep lips apart for 60 seconds until the product sets.
STEP 2: Apply topcoat to lock the colour, moisture and add shine.

My Thoughts + Wear Test Results

My lips are always exceedingly dry, in fact, my whole body is dehydrated, therefore matte lipsticks or long-wearing lipsticks are not usually my friend. Of course, there are a few that are the exception, but those are products for another post. I never expected this lipstick to perform as it did, but I put it through the wringer today, in a 16+ hour wear test. I did not perform a ‘kiss test’ however it did not transfer onto glasses or anything else and it stayed put through meals. You can see for yourself how it fared.

Just after application, early in the morning

Just after application, early in the morning

6:30 -I applied the product as directed; liquid colour first, 1-2 minute dry time and then topcoat. The liquid colour by itself is relatively matte but does feel tacky and the product moves if the lips are pressed together. However this changes when the topcoat is applied. The topcoat almost cannot be felt on the lips, and as it is not a super liquid-y gloss it is not at all sticky on the lips. Furthermore, it provides a nice sheen to the lips.

8:15 -I ate a mini breakfast (muffins, etc). My lipstick did not budge (nor did the shine).

11:45 -I ate a second breakfast (a bagel).

12:15 -I performed a mirror check and it showed what I was feeling–no cracking or fading, just smooth and moisturized lips

12:45 -My lips started to feel a little dry, but to the touch they still felt smooth and not cracked or cakey. However, I reapplied the topcoat as a preventative measure towards the dryness increasing.

7:30 -13 hours in now! The lipstick still looked great and to be honest, I was shocking myself with its longevity (and comfort). At this point I reapplied the balm again as some signs of wear began to show (slight cracking)

8:45 -I ate dinner, a nice oily Chinese takeout dinner. Yum! Oh the life of a uni student is so glamourous. Anyways, even through the somewhat greasy food, the lipstick did not break down, it just faded slightly.

10:30 -Woohoo! I hit the 16 hour mark! Now that’s cause for celebration because unless one looked closely, my lipstick still looked pretty good, and felt pretty good on the lips to boot.

My lips throughout the day. Top: early morning Middle: afternoon  Bottom: nighttime, just before removal

My lips throughout the day.
Top: early morning
Middle: afternoon
Bottom: nighttime, just before removal

11:15 -Ok, I’m done. I could have gone on, but at this point, I wanted to wash my face and throw on some lip balm…so that’s what I did. The lipstick felt drying by this mark, and the lines in my lips were more pronounced; however, I’m sure another coat of the balm would have fixed that, but I certainly didn’t need to wear the lipstick for more than 16+ hrs. To remove the product, I just massaged my lips with baby oil and then removed it with a washcloth, and then exfoliated my lips.

All in all, a veritable success! I loved the product so go buy one and check it out for yourself 🙂

I'm wearing Heart Breaker in this look. Check out my Instagram (@subitamaria) for more!

I’m wearing Heart Breaker in this look. Check out my Instagram (@subitamaria) for more!

Edit: I have swatched/reviewed two other colours here!

2 thoughts on “Review: NEW Rimmel Provocalips ‘750 Heart Breaker’

Leave a Reply

